Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Mr. Watkins’ 10 Inexorable Truths

It’s absolutely amazing what you find when you’re cleaning out your closet.  I had about 3 boxes crammed full of stuff from 2nd grade pictures, to Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire; from an old gumball machine, to my 8th grade Geometry notebook.  I found a journal from the summer of 2000 to the spring of 2001 (with about 20ish entries).  I must’ve gotten the news that we were moving to PA because in one entry I said, “At least I’ll get to see the sucky Steelers” (little did I know they’d become un-sucky a few years later).  Anywho, the one find that surprised me most of all was a little quarter-sheet of notebook paper with a list of 10 things.  I noticed from the first item on the list that it was my 9th grade English teacher’s (Mr. Watkins’) “10 Inexorable Truths.”  So here you have it folks, from Mr. Watkins, to me, to you…

The 10 Inexorable Truths 

10. Never buy a used car in Ohio.

9.  Go with the middle-aged guy.

8.  Do your own taxes.

7.  Research college scholarships.

6.  A)  Always keep a checking account in your own name.

B)  Never put the phone in your name.

5.  Choose professors, not courses.

4.  Cars are for transportation. Period.

3.  Girls become their mothers.

2.  Men don’t get smart until they’re 33.

1.  Bloom where you are planted.

So there you have it folks.  The 10 truths to live your life by… because Mr. Watkins said so.  Most of them are rather self-explanatory.  A couple need some details added – #9 – “Go with the middle-aged guy” refers to real estate agents (I do believe)…..  And 6B – “Never put the phone in your name” is regarding having an apartment – I don’t exactly remember why you don’t want to have the phone in your name, but Mr. Watkins says that you should take any of the bills OTHER than the phone bill.

July 12, 2006 - Posted by | General Stuff

4 Comments »

  1. I always wanted to see those again! Watkins is a genius

    Comment by Maryann | July 13, 2006

  2. global warming instant expert…

    Didn’t notice it before . . . quite clever….

    Trackback by global warming instant expert | January 12, 2007

  3. Heck yeah it’s clever Mr. “Global Warming Instant Expert”!!! Watkins was full of clever stuff!

    Comment by eyekeyknee | January 13, 2007

  4. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also go
    to see this blog on regular basis to obtain updated from most recent reports.

    Comment by Crossfit Gym | April 3, 2014


Leave a Reply

