Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

The good, the bad, and the comfortable

Well, it’s been right around 2 weeks since my last post and so very much has happened. The main reason that I hadn’t blogged for the first week and a half was because we were getting ready for the wedding. My sister Julie married Wade on Saturday, July 22, 2006. It was an absolutely wonderful day! I was a groomsman for Wade (and I’ll never be able to tell him just how much that meant to me) and loved it. The rehearsal dinner *well, rehearsal party) was a blast – some night volleyball, everybody getting very drunk, and my family making our Christmas tape :-). The ceremony was very nice – Michael read the first reading and Wade’s dad read the second; the homily was brief (always nice ;-) ); Julie was beautiful; and everything went smoothly. The reception was at the Days Inn up in Butler (I had already had a fond memory of that from 9th grade – footbagging at the Magic (the Gathering) tournament with guoD, Mare, Jarred, Other Guy, and someone else…) and was a lot of fun. The food was great, the people were wonderful, and the dancing and chatting was a blast. It’s nice to catch up with people you don’t get to see too often. It was a terrific weekend (until Sunday).

Sunday was the day when I had to write my World Religions paper. It was a 10 page research paper about Hinduism, Buddhism, and their beliefs in reincarnation. I had done my research before Sunday, but hadn’t written one sentence before 12:30. I was done by 6 8-) Probably one of my more impressive feats. Monday I worked 5-10 (with only me and Smoot from 7:30ish on… that made for some miserableness). Tuesday I was supposed to work 12:30-9, but when I was woken up at 4:30 (or it might have been 5:30… it’s tough to remember now), I knew that I wasn’t going to work the whole shift. I was expecting a wakeup call early in the morning to say goodbye to Michael and Barbara (they came in from San Francisco last Wednesday). However, when it was mom doing the waking and when the first thing she said was “We’re going to the hospital,” I knew it was going to make for a long day. My grandfather had a heart attack two Tuesdays ago when he was already in the hospital for a fever. It took a lot to revive him, and it had been a very rough two weeks already. We made it to the hospital very early and saw grandpa. I said goodbye to him when the doctor had told us that he would be gone in less than an hour. Thirteen hours later, I left the hospital with grandpa still fighting. He passed away this morning around 11, and everyone was amazed that the doctors one hour was multiplied by 50. He lived a terrific life and is going to a much better place, and, if you don’t mind, please keep him (and my grandmother) in your hearts (and prayers) for me.

::Whew:: alright, there’s the majority of the bad. I think the funeral is going to be on Monday, and I’m really not sure what’s going on with the beach (the family’s suggesting John and Roberta take me down afterwards). We’ll see how all of that goes. Anywho, I’ve been playing more tennis lately (as I’ve been hoping to do all summer). Got to play with Meloy, Mare, and Vinny on Sunday after my paper, and then got to play with Meloy again last night. My tennis shoes (my last pair of Adidas Rod Lavers from the days of footbag) are falling apart (the hole in the toe is rather abnoxious) and so I started on the hunt for shoes yesterday. I dropped Vinny off at soccer up near Butler and went to the Wal-mart up there (not really for shoes, but just to waste time). I bought some DVD-R’s and a head band (woo hoo! no more hair in the eyes). I checked several stores for a wireless card for my new (old) laptop. It’s a Toshiba Satellite Pro 430 CDT witha 120 MHz processor, a 1.26 gb HDD, and 16 MB of EDO RAM (yeah.. it’s freaking old school). I’m looking for a PCMCIA card (it can take 2 type II cards, or 1 type III…) and if you can find me a network card or a USB card for a good price, please let me know! But anywho, I looked around for that, and I checked out some new tennis shoes, and I tried to find the Evan City library. It was a fun waste of 3 hours. Today I went and cashed my paycheck, took some books back to the library, and bought some new K-Swiss Unreal tennis shoes. They’re probably the most comfortable things I’ve ever put on my feet. Ever.

Anywho, I’ve finished up my summer courses, getting an A in Health and anxiously awaiting my world religions grade (I’m assuming I’ll get the necessary C because I only need 82/200 points from the paper and the final, and either one of those should have earned me enough points…

I’ve been playing a little bit of trivia… possibly a bit too much. At this very moment I have 312 points, making me a “Flight Lieutenant.” I’m ranked 88th and have been catching at least one person a day every day (eventually it gets to the point where I’ll hundreds of points a day to catch people…

I’ve been trying to get myself to work on the Whack-a-Ken game, but I really don’t know what I need to do with it… add Alex Trebeks? add trivia between levels? is it ready to implement the high score system? should I make a new high score system? So I’ve not been working on that. I’ve also not been working on Google Desktop Gadgets (as I most certainly should have been doing. I could have A) got my name to Google so they’d be more interested in me for an internship and B) won $5,000 for making an awesome gadget… oh well, I’ll keep my eyes open for their next competition – let me know if you hear of anything!).

Now for random things that I’ve been meaning to blog about –

On the way home from the hospital Tuesday (13 hours there…), I saw one of those speed limit / your speed signs… it said “Speed Limit – 35 / Your Speed- SLOW DOWN” It was probably one of the greatest things I’ve seen in a while.

I got kicked out of my History class for this fall, for reasons unbeknownst to me (well, the class was removed…)

I found the coolest thing in the world in PC Magazine.  It’s a computer in a keyboard!  If it had a battery too, I’d definitely buy that and a touch screen monitor (also with a battery) and have the sweetest laptop ever!

A tablet PC could work too… I just need about 2 grand :-\

If you haven’t seen this, check it out – A paralyzed man controls stuff with his brain.  It appears as though the future is now…

Also – if anyone wants to get together online to play with a dry-erase board, just let me know!

Meh – I guess that’s all I’ve got for you. Maybe I’ll blog again before the beach, otherwise, I’ll be back August 13thish. Hope you’ve all had calmer weeks than I! Thanks for reading

July 27, 2006 - Posted by | General Stuff

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

