Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

That damn September…

Hey, I managed to not go an entire month without blogging!! ::pats self on back::.  September was definitely a month.  Kind of a life-changing one, but I suppose those come around once in a while.

If you didn’t get the memo, I am no longer in a relationship.  Mare and I are heading different places in life, so we’re going to be friends on our separate journeys.  It was an absolutely fantastic relationship while it lasted, some of the greatest moments of my life happened during those terrific 20 months, and I’m most certainly going to miss it.  I’ve been having a really rough time, but I apparently have no option but to move on to the next chapter of my life…

I can’t type very well right now, so instead of doing coherent complete thoughts, I’m just going to make some notes about the rest of the month…

Steelers started off a little rocky (1-2) but they’re still looking good (I think the season’s going to turn right around now.

Penn State’s not going to be national champs this year, but they’ve been looking good in certain places.  Morelli had a rough quarter against OSU last week, but this week he looked fantastic (40+ yard pass on the first play of the game?  sounds good to me!).

CSE 260’s a pain in the neck.  The lectures are really tough to put up with (I take more notes than anyone in class, but my notes are all pretty much pointless and don’t relate to the homework that we do).  I somehow managed to get a perfect score on last week’s homework (which is actually what made me blog today – I just needed to brag about that :-P), but I’m not looking forward to the midterm at all.

CSE 271’s not too bad.  I feel kinda bad for the prof… he obviously knows what he’s doing, but it’s a difficult subject to get some students to understand and I think it’s the first time he’s taught it.

ECON 302 is fantastic.  Mark McCleod is definitely one of the best teachers I’ve ever had.  He explains everything so clearly, encourages you to ask a question any time you don’t understand something (even if it’s really small), and he tells you exactly what you need to know.

MATH 220 is always fun.  Tyrone is either from England or Australia (he says “zed” instead of “z” and has a freaking awesome accent) and he’s the man.  All the reviews on ratemyprofessor say that he taught Math 21 in the spring (so I’m assuming this is only his second semester), but he knows what he’s doing in this matrices class too.  He explains everything wonderfully and he’s super nice when you have a question for him.

GEOSC 010 is entertaining.  Professor Richard Alley has some terrific jokes and really knows his stuff.  The quizzes can be a little tricky, but all-in-all, I’m having a good time in the class.

LARCH 060 is baffling.  I have no clue what I’m supposed to be doing in this class.  It’s entirely online, so I can do everything at my own pace, but I’m not really sure what I’m supposed to be looking for when I watch the lectures.   I did one activity so far, there’s another one this weekend, and a midterm on Monday… hopefully I’ll understand the material enough by Monday to at least pass the midterm and understand what kind of stuff I should be looking for.

THON’s going well.  We have weekly tech meetings on Wednesday and we had a social already.  A nice group of people and we’ve got a lot of potential to do some very cool stuff this year (the BJC’s making everyone change a LOT).

I saw a double rainbow on Sunday when I got out of my programming party.  It was probably one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen.  It was about 2 blocks away, very vibrant, and it was the entire arch of the rainbow.  If the sky could always be filled with those, life would be amazing.

Math club’s awesome as always.  The pizza’s delicious, Kyle’s running things smoothly, the website is updated very quickly :) and we’re going to do some cool stuff this semester!

House is off the air for October, which is really sad.  I’m definitely looking forward to the Halloween episode!

The Office is amazing.  That’s pretty much all there is to it.

The home football games have been a blast!  Kicking Northwestern’s butt felt really nice, and the Akron and Youngstown games were cool too.

The Taco Dinner tonight’s going to be very filling.

Michael and Barbara are awesome!  They sent me some of the best chocolates I’ve ever had, from California. And there were icepacks, and they were still cold!  I’m going to savor these things as long as I can.

I’m going home this weekend for the study break.  Knappz is driving me, Mare, and Rory (Meloy possibly?) back home and I’m going to finally see Vinny play a school soccer game!  I might end up heading out to Ohio with them for his Crew games on Saturday.  But I am going to have to do a lot of studying this weekend (Econ exam on Monday shouldn’t be too bad, but Larch is going to take a lot of prep, any my teachers aren’t assigning any less homework…).

Thanks for reading all this!  I appreciate those of you who are here for me and who care enough to read through all my ramblings.  Like Alex said to my last post, although it’s a great way for me to procrastinate, it’s good for you guys to procrastinate too :-).  Take care everybody and enjoy the rest of the week!

October 4, 2006 Posted by | General Stuff | Leave a comment