Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

The Month Off

Last time we left off in the saga of what is Danny’s life, I have no clue what was going on (I only remember Trogdor).  But since then, there’s been a couple exams, a Thanksgiving break, and a whooooole bunch of Wii.

The main story of the month was me playing Evan’s Wii, falling in love with it, so then playing Whitty’s Wii, trying to find one on Black Friday with Aunt Roberta (unsuccessfully), and checking 8 different websites and calling 6 different stores for over a week before finding out about a Walmart release.  I camped out at the Atherton Walmart for 18 hours and got a Wii!

So yeah, I got to Walmart at 2 PM on Tuesday December 5.  I was 12th in line (during the night 2 people left, so I got the 10th system) and the 30th person got into line sometime around 6:30 PM.  The main people I hung out with throughout the night were the group of 4 people right behind me and 2 other people a few more people back.  We played board games (very long versions of both Risk and Monopoly), lots of cards (I still had my Egyptian Rat Screw skills!), and had a good time throughout the entire night.  If you ever camp out for anything, be sure to meet fun people in line who will make your wait more enjoyable!

I got 20 minutes of sleep throughout the wait, and then another hour when I got home.  Wednesday night I passed out and got more than 10 and a half hours (very nice!).  Since Wednesday, I’ve probably played about 14 hours of Wii, and I’m LOVING it.  I chose to only get the Wii Sports game that came with it (Bowling, Tennis, Boxing, Baseball, and Golf) and to hold off for Zelda, hoping that I do not ruin my semester by getting addicted to a game.  So far, it’s been a good decision.  About 12 people have played it so far, and it seems like everyone’s been loving it.  From having Christine kick mine, Knappz, and Burdeezy’s butts to Rory bowling a 253 right-handed (he’s left-handed…), many good times have come so far.  Alex hooked me up with a wireless router (thanks Alex!!!) and so I’ve been exchanging messages and Miis with people all around the world (well.. world being Penn State campus and Whitty, up at RIT).

So if you ever want to play my Wii, just let me know!  I’m always looking for someone to bowl 10 frames with or to knock the crap out of :-)

Onto non-Wii related news – I missed my first points in Econ, but still have over 100.  I second-guessed myself on a CSE 260 question, and now have to work slightly harder on the final.  I rocked the CSE 271 exam but have been having some difficulty with the homework.  Tyrone’s still the man in Math 220.  I skipped GeoSci on Tuesday (my first skip of the semester!) and did poorly on the quiz because of it.  Larch is really starting to bug me (I put off the work until the day it’s due and then devote an ENTIRE day to it.  It’s really not healthy, but I can’t force myself to do the work any other time).

THON stuff’s going well.  I haven’t had much free time to work on THINK stuff, but I did manage to go to the Video Game night last week and loved it!  It was really good bonding time, and I look forward to doing it again.  The family carnival went over smoothly, with me doing a bunch of setting up and the initial editing, but then sitting around for a couple hours after that.

Math Club’s sweet, as always.

I saw a play – Speaking in Tongues – at the Pavilion Theatre Thursday, and was amazed.  It was really well put together and had lots of cool “effects.”  I suppose it’s too late for me to recommend you to see it (the last showing started 10 minutes ago…), but if you ever hear that someone’s doing it, try to make it out to see it!

That’s all I’ve got right now.  It’s been a busy month, a very weird weather month (65 one Friday, 26 the next), but all-in-all, a fun month.

Thanks for catching up with me :-)  It really does mean a lot to me that you’re reading this, so if you could post a comment, I’d love to see that you care.

December 9, 2006 - Posted by | General Stuff

1 Comment »

  1. Sounds like you’re having a good semester. Hopefully it’ll end just as well for all of us. I think we have a few classes together in the spring, too.

    Comment by aparker591 | December 10, 2006


Leave a Reply

