Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

THON is amazing!

Soooooo, I’m not very good at the whole “keeping up with the blog” thing.  But, I’m pretty sure it’s about time to update, because a whole bunch of stuff has happened.

First and foremost, congratulations to everyone involved in THON!!! $5,240,385.17!!!!!!!!  That is one absolutely amazing accomplishment, and everyone who helped THON out can give each other a  huge pat on the back! This year we really did a great job breaking in the BJC, and THON ’07 TOTALLY Rocked it Out!

The entire weekend was incredible – from helping dancers make their video confessionals and blog entries to spending 2 hours working on 12 computers to burn 300 copies of a video compilation of THON 2007 pictures; from learning the amazing line dance forwards and backwards to actually performing it on stage in front of everyone there and everyone checking in on the Webcast (Thanks Vinny, Thanks Mom! :-) <3!!!).  Family hour was even more touching than I had heard, Graham Spanier jump roping (and all the dancers, kids, and captains too!) was really awesome, and having corn rows was pretty much amazing :-) I really want to thank those of you who stopped by to visit me and those who wrote me captain mail – It was very kind of all of you, and I appreciate it very much!!!  Also, last night’s celebration with Tech, R&R, and a couple Moralers was an absolutely fantastic time and definitely added to making this weekend one of the best of my life!  PS – If you haven’t seen the Tech music video, you HAVE to check it out!

So in a nutshell, THON is absolutely amazing and if you weren’t a part of it this year, I strongly encourage you to get involved in any way possible next year!

Other than THON, it’s a new semester (since my last post), I’m taking 15 very technical credits this semester (CSE 331 (Machine level programming), CSE 465 (Data Structures and Algorithms), CSE 451 (Numeric Computations), STAT 318 (Probability), and ECON 004 (Macroeconomics)).  They’re all going fine for the most part.  I finished up round one of midterms on Friday, and I think all-in-all I did rather decently on this set of them.  So yeah, classes… fun stuff.

Our group had an Intramural volleyball team known as Dumbledore’s Army, and we were pretty much the coolest team in our league.  We might not have won any games at all, but we were definitely hotties in our Death-Eater t-shirts and I think I can speak for everyone saying that it was a whole ton of fun!  I definitely plan on having another team next time around and I think, with a little bit of practice, we can aim for wining one game :-).
Math Club’s getting t-shirts again this year, and my opinion didn’t go into them whatsoever (I was really hoping for the pink t-shirt, with the neon green lettering, with entirely mathematical symbols making up “Penn State Math Club,” but I suppose the compromise that was made will end up being a pretty cool t-shirt nonetheless).
This semester, I’m proud to say that I’m only really addicted to 24 and The Office (I’ve been taping House because I’ve been busy every Tuesday night, and some of the group has been watching American Idol on occasion, but it’s definitely not an addiction :-\).  And in the movie area, I saw The Prestige and The Departed at the HUB (both of which are absolutely fantastic, and I strongly encourage you to watch them both), we watched the Boondock Saints on one-month-until-Pi-Day (some people call it Valentine’s Day…), and I saw Snatch (another pretty awesome movie – but you have to watch it with subtitles..).  And at some point in the near future, I’m going to watch Chicago for real :-)

Random notes now – JULY 21, 2007 = the release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!  Wii Play is a ton of fun (especially Duck Hunt and Tanks). I want to mod a Wiimote to look like an NES controller.  The CSE Helpdesk took 40 days to respond to a simple question I had (EXCELLENT response time!).  Free Rider is a ton of fun (and playing the levels here make it even better).  Ben Folds is playing at IUP on March 30, and I’m pretty sure Knappz and I are going!!!  There was a snow day the Wednesday before THON!  I was always told “there are no snow days in college”, but that has now been thrown entirely out the window!  I’m watching The Departed win best Screenplay adaptation right now :-)  It’s also going to win Best Picture, and it’s going to be fantastic!  And I’m really exhausted, so, until next time…

<3 !

PS – Andrew – this one’s for you!

February 25, 2007 - Posted by | General Stuff

1 Comment »

  1. Glad to finally see an update. I’ve been watching since THON to see when one would go up. That Tech video is great – one of the big reasons that I really feel like I could contribute. haha.

    Your semester doesn’t sound exciting. My grades are headed down the tubes.

    If you haven’t taken your GHA credits, you and your friends should take the volleyball class with me next semester.

    I refuse to watch any 24 because I really don’t want to get addicted. Have you ever seen Entourage, btw? I’m pretty sure you’d fall in love – it’s like the most addicting show ever. Like stay up til 3am every night watching them addictive.

    Comment by ejy5002 | February 26, 2007


Leave a Reply

