Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

The Car Chase

Thanksgiving break began the Saturday before Thanksgiving for me and Meloy as we embarked on our journey home. His parents picked us up in State College to bring us home for the break. On the ride home, Meloy and I watched some Pushing Daisies and the Office before my laptop battery died (it was nice to figure out how long battery is good for! It’s officially less than 1.5 hours.). The trip went quickly with that hour and a half distraction, and after that I got some reading done.

Once we got home, I rushed to grab all my stuff to take inside (I mean, I hadn’t seen mom since she dropped me off in August). They headed out, and I took a quick tour of the house (in case you didn’t know – we moved back to the Cranberry house. Grandma decided she wanted to live with us after all) before settling down on the couch. I turned on the Nittany Lions game (vs. Michigan State, if I remember correctly), and exclaimed, “This high def picture is so much better than watching computer on my – [insert bad word].” It was at that moment that I remembered that my dead laptop was sitting on top of Meloy’s stuff in his trunk. I attempted to call him, only to remember that his battery died that morning, and I realized that I didn’t have either of his parents’ numbers.

Knowing that they were going to the Cranberry Target for a little bit, I jumped in the driver’s seat of the minivan (mom and Mike decided to come with me for some reason) and headed out. I got to Target, and saw their car on the outskirts of the parking lot immediately after I turned in the opposite direction. I went down to the end of that row and up the next to park next to them, but their car was started, and they headed for the exit. I flashed my lights and honked at them from the Target parking lot all the way to the ramp to get onto 79 and the turnpike. They didn’t hear me.

After catching up to them on the turnpike (they have EZ-Pass, so they got a head start), I pulled up beside them and they didn’t see any of us waving out hands frantically at them. After following them all the way to their house, they were genuinely surprised to see me when I walked behind their car in their driveway. It was the most intense car chase I had ever been in.

January 9, 2008 - Posted by | General Stuff

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

