Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

The Job Interview

The very next day (continued from “The Car Chase”), I had a flight from Pittsburgh International to Dulles.  The reason for this trip was for a job interview with Argon ST, a defense-contractor located in Fairfax, Virginia.  This was the third time I had been on an airplane in my life and definitely the first time I had flown on my own.  I got the airport two and a half hours in advance because I was paranoid about the holiday traffic (of which there really wasn’t much).  I got put on the waitlist for the earlier flight (to save myself two hours), and once I got through security and to the gate, I had five minutes to spare before the early flight!

Once I landed, I had no idea what I was doing.  I had never been to Dulles, but I figured I’d follow the crowds and then the signs to the baggage claim, and there I found signs for a taxi.  I told the guy at the desk that I had no clue what I was doing (I had never been in a taxi before…), but he assured me that it would be very easy.  I hop in the cab, and tell the guy “Hyatt Fair Lakes” and after an awkward 25 minute ride where all I could do was watch the counter go up and look outside, having no clue where I was or where I was heading, I made it to the doorstep of the hotel.

I was on the eleventh floor.  It was a sweet room – it had king size bed, living room area, cheese, crackers, and juice waiting for me, and an iHome (I thought that was a really interesting and neat touch).  The internet wasn’t free (or at least, I couldn’t figure out how to do it freely), I wasn’t feeling adventurous (I’m not Adventurous Alex or anything…), and I didn’t have anything better to do, so I was in bed before 9:30.  I woke up nervously early to prepare myself and to give myself ample time to find the place.  It was less than a tenth of a mile away.

The interviews went well – there were some really nice people who asked me all kinds of stuff about myself and told me lots about the company and what they do.  The “Highest Wrung” problem was given to me (I remembered we had talked about it in my Data Structures and Algorithms course, but that didn’t really help, seeing as I forgot the solution), I had lunch with a previous co-op who is now full time (I love Olive Garden.), and caught a taxi back to Dulles.  I didn’t get to catch an earlier flight this time around, but it was still a quick trip and I made it home safely.  I apparently did decently enough at the interview because they liked me enough to offer me an internship!  So, yeah! It was a fun trip and I found out that I’m not as terrible at interviews as I thought I might be.

January 9, 2008 - Posted by | General Stuff

1 Comment »

  1. Wow, you got the internship? Congrats! I think the last time I heard about that was when you had to fill out the security paperwork.

    Comment by Alex | January 9, 2008


Leave a Reply

