Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Summer is here!

So summer is (pretty much) here!!!  I’ve got an 8AM final Friday morning, but that’s in competitive programming, which there isn’t really a need for studying (let’s face it – I’m an awesome competitive programmer).  I have officially survived 3 years of college.  That’s pretty scary when you think about it – 3 years of college have passed me by, and now I’ve only got one year left.  That really makes me sad!  I’m not sure I’m ready for graduation and the real world…

This semester was a pretty solid one.  With only 13 credits, I had plenty of time to do fun stuff like helping out THON Technology in a million ways, getting addicted to Lost (oh my gosh – if you haven’t seen it – this show is amazing.), and turning 21.

THON was amazing this year.  Seeing even more people come together (over 3300 volunteers directly involved in the organizing of THON alone!) this year to raise an extra 1.4 million dollars over last year was absolutely awesome!  $6.6 million is really going to go a long way to helping out these families and I could not be prouder to be a part of such a wonderful philanthropy.  Being a Technology captain in 2007 was a great experience that really hooked me, but this year was even better because Tech has become my family, and I love it.  I consider everyone in Tech to be my best friends, and I look forward to hanging out with them at every chance I get.  Getting selected to be a 2009 Technology captain was terrific, because I get to continue on with a large portion of my 2008 family (though we will most certainly miss our graduating seniors!!!) as well as welcoming in several new members.  I can’t wait for the fall semester when our family can come even closer together.

Turning 21 has been pretty sweet – it’s nice to have no limitations (other than AARP membership and something about renting cars) on me any more, and the Penn State bar scene is pretty solid.  Although I haven’t been out too many times and haven’t really taken full advantage of the large number of bars out there, it has been fun to get to spend time with the people I’ve gotten to.

And after turning 21 and having that settle down, I found Lost.  On ABC.com, they have every episode of Lost seasons 1, 2, 3, and (the ones released so far in) 4.  With my addictive personality, I have been absolutely hooked, and have watched all of season 1, all of season 2, and the first half of season 3.  This show is incredible. The writing is insane, linking crazy things together from episode to episode, and making for one really addicting and really enjoyable show.  Also, the majority of the actors are fantastic at playing their parts.  If you haven’t gotten hooked, I strongly suggest you go to ABC.com and watch the first 3 episodes of season 1 (chances are you’ll get addicted in the first episode).  And if you ever want to discuss anything in the show at all, I’m always up for it!

Alright, now it’s time for me to go enjoy my freedom around here for the next 2 days!  I’ll be packing up and heading home on Friday after my exam, and will then have the rest of May to see Cranberry people, play Rock Band, and do whatever else I want to do (most likely getting Mario Kart Wii since it looks like a million hours of fun).  If anyone wants to get together at all let me know!

(PS – I’m still considering stopping my hosting service for dannyiachini.com … I really only use it for the blog, and I can blog on Facebook, so I’m paying a bunch of money for a redundant service.  If you know of a cheap hosting company, please let me know!  I’d love to have this sandbox to play around in, but I haven’t been taking advantage of it for how much it costs..)

May 7, 2008 - Posted by | General Stuff

1 Comment »

  1. Wow – my brother has a blog! I’m sure I knew this at some point in time, but I had long since forgotten. Anyway, I’ll have to check out Lost based on your recommendation.

    As for having your web site, I agree that it’s cool, but probably not worth keeping the site up if it’s just for a blog. For what it’s worth, Barbara is loving the WordPress blog that you helped her set up (and she updates it more frequently than you seem to update yours, slacker!). http://knittinandkittens.wordpress.com/

    Comment by Michael | May 7, 2008


Leave a Reply

