Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

I Love Computer Programming

That’s all there is to it.  Computer programming is my true love.  I know that that makes me a huge nerd, but I am perfectly okay with that.  On Saturday night, after the hideous Penguins game, I hunted down a beginner’s guide on CSS and how to use it.  I worked through that and the same site’s intermediate and advanced tutorials until 4:30 in the morning and felt enlightened.

Now, CSS is something that I’m familiar with – (pretty much) every website I go to has its own CSS describing the look of the content: this blog has a CSS (which I imported and then modified a few characteristics), the Pass System (for THON) has a CSS, and the Math Club website that I maintained had a CSS.  Basically all I knew about CSS was that you define the characteristics of different objects (tags in HTML, selectors in CSS) and that way you don’t have to use different font tags all over the place and whatnot.  I had also heard rumors about how CSS should be used to design the layout of a page (instead of nesting tables inside of tables inside of tables).  But I didn’t know how to create a CSS from the ground up, and I sure as hell didn’t know how to do the page layout.So at 4:30AM, I finished up the tutorials and now I know how to design a CSS (I feel like Keanu Reeves in the Matrix – “I know CSS.”).

The big project on my plate right now is the development of Pass 2.0OOOOhYeeeeah (the initial Pass System was coded in ASP, and no one at Penn State knows ASP, and I don’t really enjoy ASP, so we’re recoding it in PHP – also in order to universalize the THON Technology Committee).  So I’m recreating the CSS (which is currently pretty much used only to modify the font for error messages) for the new Pass System, and it’s rocking thus far.

The only thing I love more than programming computers is learning a new programming language.  So learning CSS on Saturday night put me in seventh heaven.  :-)

May 27, 2008 - Posted by | General Stuff

4 Comments »

  1. Hey Danno – Glad to hear you’re getting on the CSS train!

    How well do you know PHP? How much free time do you have this summer?

    I have a business idea that I am very seriously going to put into place this summer or starting next semester in school. I’d expect 10 hrs/week through the summer/semester of work, but I’d like a fine programmer-type such as yourself to be a partner in the venture. We can talk about it more if you’re interested.

    Comment by Justin Burdeezy | May 28, 2008

  2. Yeah, you’re a nerd. But that’s okay – I am, too.

    Comment by Michael Iachini | May 29, 2008

  3. I already know CSS, ooooohhhhhhh!

    Comment by Maryann | May 29, 2008

  4. Burdeezy: I’d definitely be interested in talking with you about your idea! I don’t know what kind of free time I’m going to have once I start working, but I’d imagine I could probably fit some work in over the weekends.

    Michael: Being a nerd is just so much fun!

    Mare: You’re a terrible trash-talker :-P

    Comment by eyekeyknee | May 29, 2008


Leave a Reply

