Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

The Internet Amazes Me

A couple weeks ago, Mare convinced me to start using Google Reader.  I’ve been using it ever since and am in love (no longer do I have to go down a list of my bookmarks, remembering which blogs to check out, or even which YouTube channels I want to catch up on — you should definitely give it a shot).  So while perusing my unread items in Google Reader just now, I came across this item that Mare shared: Focused Practice, Not Everyday Work, Improves Your Skills.  It’s a great blurb, summarizing and linking to The Code Kata (on Coding Horror – a blog which I am now going to subscribe to in my Google Reader).

Now, the Code Kata was a fantastic read, but it also had some fantastic links!  Another wonderful article was Teach Yourself Programming in Ten Years (which discusses how all these “Teach yourself [insert programming language] in [insert short time period]” books aren’t what is needed in order to become a good programmer — it takes much more time and doing a whole lot more than just reading).  So while loving that article, I was reading near the end when he quotes Alan Perlis saying, “Everyone can be taught to sculpt: Michelangelo would have had to be taught how not to. So it is with the great programmers,” and so of course I had to go and read a bunch of those epigrams (I think my favorite may have been either that one, or “Most people find the concept of programming obvious, but the doing impossible.”).

Those epigrams were the end of that tangent that I went off on, but backing up two levels (to the Code Kata), there was a link to why You Should Write Blogs too.  After skimming through that, I said “Hell yeah I should!” and that is what led me here!

Now that I have passed along all of those links to you (come on – seven tabs in Firefox is nothing!  And if you’re using Internet Explorer, well then I’m glad I filled up your taskbar!  Shame on you!  Go download Firefox!), time for a brief original idea.

The internet is absolutely amazing!  By simply reading an item that a friend of mine shared with me in my Google Reader, I ended up finding two new blogs which I will be following, a great outlook at computer programming, and a list of very true (and some funny) epigrams related to computers!  The internet is a constantly growing and changing web, and I cannot wait to see how it evolves over time!

June 26, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. I haven’t adopted Google reader yet…and maybe not for a while. I’m too used to running through my bookmarks :)

    Comment by Alex | June 27, 2008

  2. I’m telling you ALex – Google Reader really saves a lot of time. Not only are all the things you want to read right there in one place, but you don’t waste your time going to a site that hasn’t been updated… I think when school starts back, I’ll procrastinate less because of it.

    Comment by dannyiachini | June 28, 2008


Leave a Reply

