Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

I’m Not Illiterate After All

Contrary to popular belief, I’m not illiterate!  Throughout my life, I haven’t really been much of a reader, and that is something that I’ve always regretted.  Sure I’ve read the Harry Potter series (and loved it!), the typical Dan Brown novels which swept the nation (Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons, and Digital Fortress), and a few random things here and there (Vonnegut on occasion, and of course John Green’s books (http://www.youtube.com/vlogbrothers) — but I haven’t ever had a stretch where I’d pick up one book after another.

… until now.  With my bus ride to and from work, I figured reading was something that I could do to pass the time.  And so that’s what I’ve been doing.  I started off by reading Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse Five, which is something that I’ve been meaning to do for a long time.  It was definitely a really good book, but because I’m not much of a reader, I don’t think I took everything from it that I was supposed to..  oh well – it was still a great way to pass the time.  After I finished that up, I moved on to the cyber-punk thriller Snow Crash.  It was a really fun read, and it was right up my alley with all the computery stuff and the futuristicness.

If anyone has any suggestions for what else I should read, I’d love to hear them!  I got started on Freakonomics and my manager suggested The World Is Flat, which also sounds pretty good.  But my reading speed has apparently increased, so I should be able to finish those two up in just a couple weeks and will be needing some more!

June 29, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. You’ll have to let me know how freakonomics is. It’s been on my “to read” list for a while now. If you are looking for something more on the fiction-y side I can always recommend “American Gods” by Neil Gaiman. I really enjoyed it :-D

    Comment by Blue | June 29, 2008

  2. I’ve been reading a bit more too. My boss recommended Snow Crash so I might have to pick that one up, also I brought my copy of Digital Fortress along but haven’t started yet (I want to, and I plan to). I have one recommendation though – I just finished Bringing Down the House by Ben Mezrich. They based the movie 21 on this book, which is a true story, and it’s about 6 MIT students who counted cards in Vegas a bunch of years ago. It was a fantastic book and with Vegas so close here I wanted to go do what they were doing!

    Comment by Alex | June 29, 2008

  3. If you liked Freakonomics, I’d suggest Predictably Irrational by Dan Ariely. It’s in a very similar vein.

    Two books that I read not long ago and enjoyed are Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett and and Lamb by Christopher Moore. If you’ve never read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, I highly recommend it (and the text adventure version is good, too, as long as you play with hints). For non-fantasy/sci-fi recommendations, I’d suggest checking out some John Grisham – The Client was one of my favorites. Grisham is a quick read; very entertaining. I’m slogging through Moby-Dick at the moment, and I can’t say I recommend it; the story itself is good, but the chapters about the details of whaling are interminable.

    Comment by Michael | June 29, 2008

  4. Blue – I’m sure I’ll blog about Freakonomics when I finish it, so I’ll be sure to link ya to it! As for the Neil Gaimam recommendation – seeing as both you and my brother recommended him, I’m going to have to definitely check him out.

    Alex – yeah, Snow Crash was a really fun read, I’d definitely suggest you read it too. I actually checked out Bringing Down the House out from the PSU library the last couple weeks of class, but I was so into Pass2.0 that I didn’t get a chance to read it. Thanks for reminding me that I want to read it!

    Michael – so far Freakonomics is a really interesting read, so I might have to check that one out at some point! And seeing as 2 out of the 3 people commenting mentioned Neil Gaiman, I’m thinking I’ll have to give him a try. And I absolutely love Hitchhiker’s Guide! I had no idea there was a text adventure version (I could definitely see that being awesome). And seeing as mom has all sorts of Grisham, that’s very easy to put on my list. (Moby Dick doesn’t exactly seem like my kind of book, so best of luck with that one! :-\)

    Thanks for all the suggestions guys!!

    Comment by dannyiachini | June 30, 2008

  5. check out the wizard knight if you are into dragons, faeries, and morals? its quite a captivating and thought provoking read. of gene wolf, there is also soldier of the mist (utterly confusing and fun). i dont know if you read vonnegut’s the sirens of titan, but that was my favorite one of his. i heard good things about cryptonomicom ?

    Comment by lskdjf | June 30, 2008

  6. […] Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch When I blogged about not being illiterate last month, I had asked for recommendations on what I should read.  After finishing up Bringing […]

    Pingback by Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch « Danny Iachini’s Weblog | July 21, 2008


Leave a Reply

