Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Freakonomics

I just finished up reading Freakonomics (Amazon), and I must say – it’s awesome.  The whole concept of the book is quite an interesting one — comparing things that your average person wouldn’t ever think could be compared.  How are Sumo Wrestlers similar to middle school teachers?  How are real estate agents like the Ku Klux Klan?  This book explains these and several other issues which I wouldn’t imagine have been tackled anywhere else before.

In particular, I really enjoyed the chapters on drug dealers living at home (I really learned a lot of interesting stuff) and the 1990s drop in crime (explained by something which makes perfect sense, but which most people wouldn’t have guessed).  The way Stephen and Steven (I love the fact that the authors’ names are so similar) analyzed the massive amount of data was really cool, and then their writing style made for such an easy read.  I would most certainly recommend this book to anyone looking for an interesting quick read (no economics skills are required – it’s not your typical economics, as they explain).

July 9, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Woo! True to your word, you posted on Freakonomics. Though I kind of wish it required a little economics. Oh well. I’ll probably end up reading it anyway. :-)

    Comment by Blue | July 9, 2008

  2. I’m glad you liked it – I think it’s a really cool book, too. I actually got to listen to Steven Levitt speak at a conference in May, and he was a really cool speaker; very entertaining. He talked in part about research he’s doing now into prostitution. Fun stuff!

    Comment by Michael | July 9, 2008

  3. Blue – yeah, it’s definitely worth a read. Not very time-consuming but really interesting topics (and it kind of got me to look at Economics in a completely different light).

    Michael – that’s really awesome that you got to hear him speak! Maybe I’ll luck out and he’ll end up in State College sometime before I graduate (that’d be pretty sweet). And who doesn’t love hearing about prostitution research?!

    Comment by dannyiachini | July 9, 2008

  4. Great book. Read it a few years ago, and helped me apply economic theory into other aspects of my life beyond the academic realm.

    Comment by Swigger | July 16, 2008


Leave a Reply

