Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Bringing Down the House

As mentioned previously, when I saw American Gangster in the theatre last November, I saw a preview for 21, and made special note of it.  When I heard that it was based off of a true story which was documented in Bringing Down the House, I decided that I wanted to read the book before watching the movie.  Lucky for me, the Cranberry public library had a copy, so I picked it up and started reading it two Mondays ago.  By that Friday (Arts Fest Friday), I was finishing up the epilogue when I caught my ride up to State College.  That alone speaks volumes for this book (if you know me, you know I’m a terrible reader).

I thoroughly enjoyed Bringing Down the House.  It’s about the MIT card-counting team which made millions before Las Vegas caught on to what they were doing and cracked down on them.  The book is written by Ben Mezrich who wasn’t a part of the team, but who worked really closely with Kevin Lewis who was a vital part of the team.  The book describes everything about their operation – from the basics of card-counting (a way to gain an advantage against the dealer in black jack) to the intricacies of the team play (the acting, the communication, even the details of how they smuggle the money into Vegas), this book touches on all aspects of the double life that Kevin Lewis lived while playing on the team.

The story moves so quickly and was just a really solid read.  The writing style made it really easy to just go and go and go, and so that’s exactly what I did.  I’ve always enjoyed playing cards (from 500 Rummy with my grandpa and cousins from the age of 5 to my poker addiction from Governor’s School through freshman year at Penn State), and so that may have made it easier for me to get into it, but I think that this is a book that anyone could pick up and enjoy.  Now that I’ve read the book, I get to see the movie!  But since I’m an awesome friend, I’m waiting until I get back to State College to watch it with Adventurous Alex.  If you’d care to join us, just let me know!  We’ve got a month to plan this one out!

(PS – yeah – I’m at the beach!!!  I’ll most likely blog about that either tomorrow or Tuesday, once I actually do something…)

July 21, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. sweet! I always knew you were an awesome friend! oh, and also, the tiny smiley face at the bottom of the page is sneaky

    Comment by Alex | July 21, 2008

  2. haha.. thanks Alex! And yeah, I saw that smiley face yesterday when I was posting that… it’s definitely just a part of this wordpress theme… I can’t wait ’til I can buy dannyiachini.com back again and that way I’ll be able to customize my own theme…

    Comment by dannyiachini | July 21, 2008


Leave a Reply

