Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

When I blogged about not being illiterate last month, I had asked for recommendations on what I should read.  After finishing up Bringing Down the House, I picked up Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett’s Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch.  Both Blue and Michael had suggested Neil Gaiman, so I decided to give Good Omens a shot.

Starting last Monday on the bus ride into work and finishing yesterday on the car ride to the beach, it was another book that I flew right through (maybe it’s not the books, maybe I’m just getting better at reading!).  It started off a little slow for my liking, allowing me to drift off each of Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday mornings on the bus.  I don’t know if this was simply because the previous weekend I got a total of 5 hours of sleep over a 60 hour span or it if it was the book, but either way, the start wasn’t gripping enough to keep me wide awake.  After getting some background on what all was going on, I definitely found myself getting more and more into it and not being able to put it down.

The story, in a nutshell, is that the time has come for Armageddon.  The Anti-Christ is brought into the world, and he is mixed up at the hospital (he ended up with the wrong family).  And so the story covers a four (three?) day period, eleven years later, setting up the Apocalypse.  The main gripe I have with the book is the combination of the number of characters and the way their stories run parallel.  There are at least 5 major groups with their own story lines (you’ve got the angel and the demon, the antichrist and his gang, a witch-hunter and the witch he’s after, the witch-hunter’s mentor and his neighbor, and the four horsemen of the apocalypse (not to mention other random tangents on a few other characters)).  Since the story is chronological, putting these 5 different stories together gets a little confusing, having a couple pages about one group, and then completely switching contexts to a different one abruprtly.  Other than that making it a little harder for me to follow, it really was a good read.

The thing that I am really wondering about this book is how the collaboration took place between Gaiman and Pratchett.  I wonder if one was in charge of a few characters while the other took the rest… or if they went through and one wrote one section and the other wrote the next… or if they alternated words (that would be pretty insane…).  But however they did it, I’m really interested in each of their individual styles.  So now I’m going to have to read a book by each of them to see what their separate styles are (quite possibly Blue’s suggestion of American Gods for Gaiman, and anybody have any good Pratchett suggestions?).

Now it’s time to hit the beach and start M.T. Anderson’s Feed!

July 21, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Well, if you’re looking for a Terry Pratchett book I think it only makes sense to start with the first book in the Discworld series – the Colour of Magic. I’ve read a few of the books in the series, and they’re interesting – they have a certain offbeat humor to them. I don’t know much about other writings of his, but you might enjoy that one.

    Comment by Michael | July 21, 2008

  2. Well if you ever want to borrow American Gods or Neverwhere (both Gaiman novels) you are welcome to borrow them. All I have to do now is to get you to give Sandman a chance ;-) (You can definitely borrow some of my Sandman if you would like).

    Comment by Blue | July 23, 2008

  3. Thanks guys! Luckily my county library system has each of these recommended books, so I’ll have to see what I can do about getting my hands on them!

    Comment by dannyiachini | July 23, 2008


Leave a Reply

