Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Who Moved My Cheese?

Last summer, mom heard about this book, Who Moved My Cheese?, at a real estate convention that she was at.  She absolutely had to read it, so I hunted it down at our Cranberry Township library.  She read it and raved about it, but I didn’t get around to reading it before it was due back.  For Christmas, she apparently gave a copy to each of my older siblings, and thought that she had given one to me, but had not.  So when I was asking for good reading material at the beginning of my internship, she said that this should be at the top of my list.  My priorities were a little different from hers, but I told her that I’d at least put it on my list.  When I finished up Feed this morning, Who Moved My Cheese? was at the top of my To Read list.

I think my favorite part about this book was that I literally did not need a bookmark.  Weighing in at 94 pages (including the title page, table of contents, and several other blank pages), this book was the quickest read I can remember since One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish.  The bulk of the book is this story about two mice (Sniff and Scurry) and two Littlepeople (Hem and Haw) who lived in a maze looking for cheese.  They all find a stash of cheese (or Cheese to the Littlepeople) at one station, but when it runs out, that is when you learn the difference between each of the characters – how they deal with the removal of this cheese.

It’s really interesting to think about which of the four characters you are when it comes to dealing with change.  I used to be a Hem – avoiding change at all costs and denying that it happens when it does; but I am definitely working towards becoming a Haw – realizing that change happens and adjusting to it to roll with the punches and find new cheese.  And so reading the discussion after the story was told about who the class reunion characters relate to was interesting to see how they applied it to their lives.

The one thing that really intrigued me about this book was the way the words were on the pages.  Every page started with a new paragraph and ended with a paragraph, so there was never any flipping of a page in between words or even sentences.  That’s a really interesting technique, which made it much easier to follow (I never once had to flip back a page), but since I’m a perfectionist, it kind of irritated me that every page had a different vertical length (and they were each centered vertically, so both the top and the bottom of adjacent pages would be off).  That coupled with the perfectly placed cheese pictures (always on the next page, so you’d have to flip the page to see the next message) really showed me just how much time and effort was put into rewording or reordering things so they would fit together flawlessly.

If you want an extremely quick read (I’m a terribly slow reader and it took me less than an hour and a half — including a half hour lunch break.) which will get you to analyze yourself (and potentially change your life… several reviews tell about how this book has changed the reviewer’s life or their company), then this book is most definitely for you.  And if you do give it a chance, let me know which character you are, or let’s have a discussion!

July 25, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Well gee, Mom didn’t give ME a copy either! :-) I’ll try to remember to look for it at the library.

    Comment by Michael | July 26, 2008

  2. I didn’t remember her giving a copy to anyone for Christmas… I think she may have just been making it up… I wouldn’t be too heart-broken by it ;-) But yeah – it’s definitely worth one of your subway trips

    Comment by dannyiachini | July 30, 2008

  3. […] I finished up Who Moved My Cheese? last Thursday, The Client was the next one in the queue, so I got started right away.  Courtroom […]

    Pingback by The Client « Danny Iachini’s Weblog | August 1, 2008


Leave a Reply

