Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

My New Lifestyle

At the beginning of this internship, I would wake up at 5:30, commute, work, commute, and get home around 5:30.  After that, I’d sit around relaxing, watching TV or playing Rock Band.  Since then, however, I have completely changed my lifestyle!  The whole 5:30->5:30 part is the same, but I am no longer being a couch potato!  The past couple work weeks, I have been playing tennis 3 or 4 of the weeknights (and at the very minimum once per weekend) and instead of Rock Banding, I have typically been Wii Fitting (though the addiction has definitely died down, I’m still doing my daily Body Test, but that’s about it…).  The one other main change is that instead of watching TV, I have been doing a lot of reading (if you couldn’t tell by all my book reviews).  And the TV that I have been watching has been about 95% movies (I love movies.. and TV these days is pretty much crap.).

I’ve got to say, I’m really enjoying this lifestyle much more than the sedentary one I was living at the beginning of the internship.  Hopefully when I get back up to State College I’ll be able to continue to play tennis 5+ times a week (if you want to work out a schedule with me, let me know!!) and hopefully I’ll still want to read instead of TV (maybe I can convince my roommates to get NetFlix instead of cable… that’d be a big money saver…).

And in case you were wondering – no, I didn’t rock the Google Code Jam.  I’m going to blame it on A) lack of TI-83 calculator (M$’s calculator.exe sucks.), B) fireworks going off right outside my window, C) the whole “being at the beach for a week, not really being in the computery mindset”, and D) one poorly written problem (I’m not sure if I’m allowed to discuss it or not.. I’ll have to read over the rules… if I can, I’ll most likely blog about what my issue was with it).  Anywho – I’m bummed about that, but will definitely win it next summer.

Also in case you were wondering – I’m home from the beach – the return trip was a fiasco, but we made it home alive.

July 29, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Aw come on, only TV in the summer is crap. I’m going to try for a gym membership this fall/spring, maybe your lifestyle change would want to do that too?

    Comment by Alex | July 29, 2008

  2. Let’s do tennis frequently and all the time.

    Comment by Michael | July 29, 2008

  3. I’m sorry Danny! I’m sure you’ll rock it next summer :-D and if it’s any consolation my summer coding work has spent 2+ months kicking my ass. :-P

    Comment by Blue | July 29, 2008

  4. Interesting “lifestyle”…definitely thought of something else when i first read the title….lol

    You know i want to play tennis.

    I still want cable.

    I also would like to read more.

    Comment by Meloy | July 29, 2008

  5. Alex – yeah, TV in the summer is crap, but there really only are a certain few shows that I think I’ll actually stick with once the “good” lineup returns. And I think a gym membership may definitely be a possibility for my new lifestyle.

    Michael Austin – that is awesome to hear. It shall be done.

    Blue – What kind of coding have you been up to this summer?

    Meloy – We’ll totally play tennis (Michael Austin plays! We’ll have to play doubles!). I’ll let you pay for the cable then :-P And we should set up a mandatory reading hour every day in our apartment.

    Comment by dannyiachini | July 30, 2008

  6. Tennis! Me! You! Uoahoahoahh!

    Comment by RCD | August 2, 2008


Leave a Reply

