Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Useful Nerdy Keyboard Shortcuts

My laptop at work has 2 quirks which really bug me: 1) there is no Windows key, so any time I want to view the desktop, I’ve had to move the mouse down to my quick launch, where the first option is a “Show Desktop” shortcut (I hate unnecessarily using the mouse.); 2) my keyboard shortcuts are not persistent.  I don’t know why is wrong with them, but I simply cannot get them to stay work from one minute to the next.

Today, I stumbled upon a few shortcuts that I was previously unaware of. First, for the keyboards without a Windows key, you can bring up the Start Menu by holding Alt and pressing Escape. So now I have my Show Desktop there and I “just” have to press Alt+Esc Ctrl+Esc (Thanks Vince!) -> D (to select “Desktop Show”) -> Enter! That just shows how lazy I am (but I think that actually might be a little more work than simply moving the cursor with the touch-pad…

The next sweet shortcut I figured out by myself accidentally.  A couple weeks ago I figured out that in Firefox Ctrl+E shifts the focus to the search engine box in the upper right hand corner (if you don’t use that – you should.  It’s awesome and customizable and you can select which search engine to use by holding control and moving up or down through the list).  So that was an awesome find, but I couldn’t figure out a way to go to the address bar…  Until now!  Alt+D shifts focus to the Awesome Bar in Firefox!  That’s so handy!!!

Also Alt+Esc will Alt+Tab you to the most recently used previous window not Alt+Escaped from!  (That’s terribly worded.. but just try it out and you’ll see what it does…)

And in case you didn’t know, Ctrl+Shift+T undies a close tab in Firefox (also really handy).

July 30, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Danny,

    You might be interested in this list of useful Firefox shortcuts:

    http://knol.google.com/k/jian-li/firefox-keyboard-shortcuts/

    Comment by Jian | July 30, 2008

  2. Thanks a lot Jian! That’s a really awesome use for Google Knol, and a really well put-together article! Thanks for the info.

    Comment by dannyiachini | July 30, 2008

  3. CTRL-L = ALT-D in Firefox

    Comment by Alex | July 30, 2008


Leave a Reply

