Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

The Client

A couple years back, I watched The Rainmaker, a movie based on John Grisham’s novel.  It was a great movie (Matt Damon has always been one of my top 10 favorite actors), and I thought about reading the book to see how they compared.  But a couple of years ago, I was pretty much illiterate…  When Michael suggested reading The Client a couple weeks ago, it brought back this memory, so I added it to my “To Read” list.  Knowing that mom read a bunch of Grisham back in the day, I asked her if she had a copy, and sure enough she did.

When I finished up Who Moved My Cheese? last Thursday, The Client was the next one in the queue, so I got started right away.  Courtroom drama movies always have been interesting to me (though I can’t stand the TV shows… try to explain that one), so I very easily got through this one.  With an action scene right off the bat, I got right into it and kept on chugging along.  The characters are developed so perfectly that you form an attachment to the main characters, despise the bad guys, and really just get a good feeling for how they’re interacting.  The relationship that forms between Reggie Love and Mark Sway is so interesting to follow and I think that is one of the things that made it a really fun read.  Clocking in at 566 pages, it’s the longest book that I have read this summer, but it flew by quicker than most of the other stuff I’ve been reading.  Grisham’s style is so smooth and easy to follow that I can definitely see myself picking up another one of his novels when I get through some of the other books on my list.

I’ll hopefully be renting the movie this weekend, and maybe I’ll give a review of that and Serenity (which was absolutely AWESOME!! I really want to watch the Firefly series now..)

August 1, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I’m glad you liked it! Grisham tends to be an easy read – he write page-turners that you fly through. Hey, that’s why he sells so many books! From my experiences, his courtroom details tend to be accurate, too. When Babara and I each got called for jury duty, I knew what to expect thanks to Grisham (I believe I learned about the jury selection process from The Runaway Jury).

    So, if you go for more Grisham, I’d suggest going with A Time to Kill or The Pelican Brief.

    Comment by Michael I. | August 1, 2008

  2. The accuracy is awesome to hear! I can definitely understand how he’s so popular.

    And thanks for the new suggestions! I went to the library today to check out Firefly (a TV series which preceded Serenity (awesome movie!)), and there was a pretty decent-sized book sale. I picked up The Pelican Brief and the Firm (among other things). So thanks again!

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 2, 2008

  3. This is somewhat late because i didn’t see the end of this post where you mentioned watching serenity before firefly! It’s like watching the end of an epic and going and getting back story! (Don’t worry, I did it too.) Though Firefly is much much better than Serenity. If you need it, all I need is a portable HD. I have dvd rips of it with the rest of my treasure trove of TV rips. :-D

    Comment by Blue | August 4, 2008

  4. Yeah, I started watching Firefly yesterday morning – the show is just as awesome as the movie! My library had the complete series on DVD, so I’m good to go, but thanks for the offer!

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 5, 2008


Leave a Reply

