Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Ender’s Game

For the first time in my little brother’s entire life, he recommended a book for me to read!  Ender’s Game is the story of a young boy (it starts when he is 6) in the future who is pretty much the chosen one to save the human race.  The entire planet has come together to fight the evil buggers (who we’ve already had two wars with), and in order to do so, the best and brightest genetically created children are sent to battle school.  The story goes on to tell of Ender’s trials and tribulations at battle school and then… come on now – I’m not going to ruin this for you!  Go pick up a copy yourself!

It really was a fun book to read.  Orson Scott Card writes in such a way that it’s very easy to understand, despite talking about the future (a tough feat in my eyes).  The combination of the really fun action scenes (all over the place) and the terrific character development (for a 6 year old, Ender’s one complex kid) made it very enjoyable to me (and with a little bit of philosophy thrown in, maybe more critical readers could read beyond the surface… but that’s not what I was going for, because I’m lazy).

As I’ve been doing the majority of this summer – I’m going to tell anyone reading this that they should get to their nearest library or used book store and pick up a copy of Ender’s Game!  I know I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest of the series (and I’m also excited to hear more news on the potential movie and video game…).

August 8, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. I love Enders Game too, fantastic book. Its still one of my all time favourites, and I read a lot!

    But I warn you not to bother with the rest of the series. IMHO they aren’t worth reading, particularly Enders Shadow which is not only bad, but it puts a new spin on Enders game that will ruin it (Enders Game) for you.

    …Then again you might like them (everyones different), but I was personally very disappointed with them. And I’m busy erasing Enders Shadow permanently from memory.

    Comment by Colin | August 9, 2008

  2. Thank you very much for the heads up Colin! With that, I’m going to push the rest of the series down on my To Read list, giving me a chance to get to some other stuff read. Thanks again, and thanks for reading!

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 9, 2008

  3. I second the recommendation of skipping the rest of the series. I think I read the next two books and was hugely disappointed. I never was even tempted to pick up Ender’s Shadow. But Ender’s Game itself is fantastic, I agree. It’s so cool that Vinny was the one to point it out to you – I didn’t even know that he read for pleasure!

    Comment by Michael I. | August 10, 2008

  4. can I borrow your copy?

    Comment by mareface | August 10, 2008

  5. Michael – Vinny actually had to read it for his honors English class. So yeah – no pleasure reading for him yet… (I’m trying to get him started)

    Mare – Sure thing! Just remind me to bring it up to school!

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 10, 2008


Leave a Reply

