Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Grandma and PopPop Rock!

(Train of thought for the title: “Okay, I want to write about Grandma and PopPop.. and I want to tell how awesome they are.. ‘I Love My Grandparents!’ Nah, I’ve already done ‘I Love’ or ‘I Heart’ a couple times.. ‘Grandma and PopPop Are Sweet!’ no.. that sounds pretty cheesy… ‘Grandma and PopPop Rock!’ YES!  That’s it!  They do rock! And then PopPop Rock is like Pop Rocks!  That’s perfect!”)

My oldest sister Ami was visiting this week, and she invited me to go with her to Grandma & PopPop’s yesterday.  Since they live in Penn Hills, I thought it would be rather pointless for me to catch a bus all the way back to Cranberry and then head over there with her, so I decided to do research to use the public transportation to my advantage.

After search through the Port Authority’s site for a while (I’ve decided I want to make a website to help out with that…), I found a bus which picked me up AT Mellon One (no 10 block walk!) and dropped me off in their backyard (less than 4/10ths of a mile!).  It was perfect.

Ami picked me up and we headed to see my dad’s parents!  I hadn’t seen them since January (I really am a terrible grandson), so it was well overdue.

Any time I get to visit with them is always a great time.  They really are two of the nicest people you could ever meet in this world.  They’ve been married over 58 years and are just always smiling from ear-to-ear, which makes them so pleasant to be around.

After dining, desserting, and catching up for a few hours, we had to get heading home so I could rest up for work.  While putting our shoes on, Ami remembered that she had brought her camera and wanted to take a couple pictures.  When Gram asked PopPop if she needed to brush her hair, he said “No, you look beautiful, but let me fix it for you anyway” and proceeded to pretend to spit on his hand and fix her hair.  Not only was it really funny (we all got a great chuckle from it), but it showed me exactly how I want to be in 60 years.

August 8, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. 4/10ths of a mile and you didn’t walk?

    Comment by Alex | August 8, 2008

  2. I hurt my Achiiiiilles tendon… Will blog about that this weekend :-P

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 8, 2008

  3. I’m jealous. I miss Grandma and Pop-Pop!

    Comment by Michael I | August 8, 2008

  4. You should come visit too!! Come on.. San Francisco to Penn Hills is only 2500 miles… and gas is down to $3.75 here!

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 9, 2008

  5. “The fact alone that you call it pop-pop tells me that you’re not ready.”

    Comment by Tim | September 4, 2008

  6. I’m totally going to re-watch all of Arrested Development this semester!

    Comment by dannyiachini | September 5, 2008


Leave a Reply

