Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Opening Ceremonies

Yesterday was 08/08/08 and at 8:08:08 PM, the opening ceremonies for the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing were underway.  The news that I had seen leading up to the Olympics was almost entirely about the political situation in China, the smog levels (and what they might do to ruin some of the events), how Michael Phelps is going to win 8 golds, and a little about whether or not Rafael Nadal can keep up Spain’s awesome streak this year.  But I hadn’t really heard anything about what to expect with the opening ceremonies.

They were fantastic.  I didn’t get to watch the entire thing (I tuned in late and watching the parade can get kind of boring), but that which I did see was amazing.  The use of technology was one thing that I found awesome – they had this big LED scroll that they rolled out to be 147 meters long (source), and around the entire circumference of the stadium was a huge project screen with images almost constantly being projected onto them.  I don’t know what the Chinese will come up with next, but I definitely tip my hat to their impressive technological feat last night.

The other thing that I thought was awesome was the number and skill of the performers.  In many of the individual segments, there were 2008 people who were doing

/ coordinated actions.  Two that stood out in particular were the people with the light suits (I think they were LEDs all over their entire suit — I’ll link in the comments when I can find it) and the Tai Chi around the school children (those performers were so absolutely perfectly placed in their concentric circles and also in straight lines from certain angles.  Their knowledge of where they were at any instant was simply stunning.).  I’m glad I got to see some of the opening ceremonies this year, and I cannot wait to watch some of the 3600+ hours of Olympic coverage!

August 9, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I just got home from Colorado to find that my dad bought a 32″ HDTV, and now that we get all HD channels, the Olympics look awesome!

    Comment by Alex | August 10, 2008

  2. HD makes all the difference in the world. Sports without HD just aren’t the same…

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 10, 2008

  3. I’m sure you heard about the firework hoaks and the chinese gymnast age dilemmas and the walls infront of the poor areas in beijing. DIGG at work FTW!

    I miss you danny. we need to kick when we get back.

    Comment by andrew | August 13, 2008

  4. I haven’t really been Digging too much lately :-X I haven’t heard anything about fireworks or the walls… I was watching the Women’s gymnastics, so I heard what they were saying about the Chinese girls not being 16…

    I miss you too! We’ll definitely have to kick! I haven’t touched a footbag since… last fall, maybe?

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 13, 2008


Leave a Reply

