Danny Iachini’s Weblog

My Nerdy Stuff

Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog

Early last week, Mare told me that I had to see Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog.  She was absolutely baffled that I hadn’t heard of it, because it has been buzzing all over the interwebs, but since I’ve been working, I typically spend less than an hour a night on my home computer.  She sent me the link to it, and I didn’t get around to watching it until Friday night.  I really regret putting it off, because it was AWESOME!

Written and directed by Joss Whedon (Firefly and Serenity’s writer/director), Neil Patrick Harris (Doogie Howser!) stars as Dr. Horrible, a up-and-coming evil villain, trying to make it into the Evil League of Evil.  Nathan Fillion (the captain of Serenity) is Captain Hammer, the superhero who always foils all of Dr. Horrible’s evil plans.  Penny (Felicia Day – a new actress to me) is Dr. Horrible’s crush who he finally talks to.

Going into it, I really had no idea what to expect: I didn’t know if NPH or Nate could sing, I didn’t know that it was going to have an entertaining plot, and I really didn’t know that it was going to be hilarious.  But it was one of the funniest things I’ve seen in a while.  The songs were so funny (I wish I could download just the music…) and there were quite a few terrific one-liners.  I really really suggest you take the 43 minutes out of your life to watch this one – it’s definitely worth a watch (or four.. that’s my count so far…).  Enjoy!

August 10, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Felica Day worked with Joss Whedon on/in buffy the vampire slayer season 7 she was one of the core slayers in training

    Comment by robert | August 11, 2008

  2. Ah ha.. I’ve never really seen Buffy – I’m assuming it’s worth watching if Joss Whedon directed it. Is it correct to assume that?

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 11, 2008

  3. This was really well done – I especially loved the music (I’m a sucker for vocal harmony). I was surprised by the ending, though.

    Comment by Michael I | August 13, 2008

  4. Yeah, I was really impressed with how well it was done – I really did not expect any great singing when I heard who the actors were, but I was definitely satisfied (though today, I found out that NPH was on Broadway for several years.. so perhaps if I did my research, I wouldn’t have been so surprised).

    I did not see the ending coming at all!

    Comment by dannyiachini | August 13, 2008


Leave a Reply

